h1

I heart OST Berlin

May 26, 2010

There is something truly magical for me about the city of East Berlin. I have always been enamored by the city and urban space itself. Historically, cities have always been a safe haven for radicals, punks, the addicted, homosexuals, queers, and artists. Enamored cannot even begin to describe the very special connection I feel to this incredible city. It is a city amongst cites it’s a top dog it massive and full of life and energy, revolutionary spirit with history seeping from the pores of everything in the city.

The city is soooooo beautiful. The art is amazing; the city is plastered with a colorful skin of graffiti mainly composed of overt political language and tags of peoples names and crews.  Right near the train station there is a vinyl sign that reads “suicide circus’ (pic coming soon) and underneath is a glorious masterpiece for all getting off the train to see.

            The city is ripe for organizing and social reproduction. Around every corner there is a park, or a plot of benches, or wide open spaces where people can picnic and relax in PUBLIC.

            Some would describe East Berlin as dirty and unclean. However, I would strongly disagree. East Berlin isn’t trashy or dirty its well used, lived in, genuinely experienced by a diverse and beautiful public. It is clearly evident that East Berlin has many many more functions than those lending towards a more capitalist nature.

            And lastly for this post….a nod to Nationalism.

If you had asked me three days ago weather or not I was an American Nationalist I would more than likely have responded with a long draw out history via Howard Zinn ultimately concluding on some ridiculous tangent about how I plan to renounce my citizenship after completing my PHD in western critical theory. However, being in EAST Berlin, seeing the wall meeting the people, and becoming acquainted with city I can see and understand the nationalistic culture surrounding the city.

Part of the wall at Potsdasmer Plotz

I have observed first hand what it is to live in a city that was once your and no longer. The architecture and the streets and even the air stand as a constant reminder of a city and a life that is no longer. I feel as though if this was my experience the city would haunt me constantly making me urn for the city that once was the city I once loved the community and the environment I was once apart of. Translating this observation to my experience as an American, I realized that REGARDLESS, of the history associated with a particular state, be it the GDR and its violent authoritarian overtones or America and its own Authoritarian overtones of slavery, genocide, and torture the country is the peoples. America, weather or not I agree with her, she is my lady, my peoples, America is my home girl, and as her friend, her brother, and comrade I owe it to her and the other people inhabiting it to constantly be there for her through better and worse. Because if America really wants to be just and be a truly incredible country she needs support help and people constantly pointing her in the right direction.

Adam Uddin (Living my Utopia)

P.S. Uncle Karl has a very comfy lap,

Uncle Karl

P.S.S.  Were going to see baby white tigers fed by bottle tomorrow at the zoo.

7 comments

  1. That is a sweet love letter to the city of Berlin and (very surpring) to the US. Where does that change of heart come from, Adam?


  2. I’ve been browsing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the net will be a lot more useful than ever before.|
    I couldn’t refrain from commenting. Exceptionally well written!|
    Lodging is situated in the business, traveller and even social precinct of Poland’s capital, for the intersection about her major avenue:. It is actually close to the prominent Construction involving Lifestyle and Research, a very important schools, banks as well as store shopping middle of the town. The are usually services to produce an individual’s live in Warsaw when satisfying as it can be, are usually got near by. Practical hitting the ground with that airport terminal, placed 10 km within the resort; as well as the Fundamental Train Train station is due to a fabulous 0. 5-kilometre mileage.


  3. I have been surfing online more than 3 hours today, yet
    I never found any interesting article like
    yours. It is pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be a lot more useful than ever before.
    |
    I could not refrain from commenting. Perfectly written!
    |
    Motel can be found in the industry, traveller and additionally ethnical precinct regarding Poland’s financing, around the intersection about it is main roads:. It truly is towards the popular Building of Civilization not to mention Scientific disciplines, the most significant companies, loan companies and the looking heart. The are usually establishments in making your reserve Warsaw when pleasant as they can, tend to be got community. Effortless connection with typically the international airport, situated 10 kilometre through the hotel room; and also Principal Train Station is at a fabulous 0. 5-kilometre long distance.


  4. I have been surfing online more than 2 hours today,
    yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It’s pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be a lot more useful than ever before.|
    I could not resist commenting. Exceptionally well written!|
    Lodge can be found in the industry, travellers plus ethnical precinct about Poland’s growth capital, for the intersection in the nation’s principal streets:. Its close to the prominent Building for Society along with Research, the key schools, finance institutions and also the researching middle. Individuals are typically conveniences to produce your own holiday in Warsaw simply because enjoyment as it can be, are generally accumulated local. Easy hitting the ground with the particular airport terminal, set 10 kilometre on the typical hotel; along with the Principal Train Section is your 0. 5-kilometre mileage.


  5. I have been browsing online more than 2 hours today, yet I never
    found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me. In my opinion, if all site owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the web will be much more useful than ever before.|
    I could not resist commenting. Well written!|
    Resort can be found in the flooring buisingess, travellers in addition to emotional precinct associated with Poland’s financing, for the intersection involving a most important roads:. It’s always at the popular Building involving Lifestyle and additionally Discipline, the key establishments, financial institutions and the store shopping centre. People are common services to build a holiday in Warsaw seeing that fulfilling as they possibly can, really are collected community. Effortless experience of a international airport, based 10 kilometre within the hotel room; as well as the Central Railway Sta is within the 0. 5-kilometre yardage.


  6. I’ve been browsing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough for me.
    In my view, if all website owners and bloggers made good content as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.
    |
    I could not resist commenting. Perfectly written!
    |
    Resort can be found in the flooring buisingess, visitor and additionally ethnical precinct from Poland’s financing, inside the intersection for it’s chief roads:.
    It really is outside of the legendary Structure regarding
    Society and even Technology, an important schools, loan providers additionally, the
    purchasing heart. Individuals are usually conveniences in making an individual’s reserve Warsaw mainly because enjoyable as you can, usually are got regional. Handy hitting the ground with any airport terminal, positioned 10 km within the resort; and then the Foremost Train Place was in an important 0. 5-kilometre length.


  7. Terrific article! That is the type off information that should be shared across the net.
    Disgrace on Google for no longer positioning this publish higher!
    Come on over and seek advice from my website . Thanks =)



Leave a Reply

