h1

Conclusion

June 20, 2010

 

This trip was a great experience for me.  Not only did I learn about the history of Germany more in-depth I was able to learn about their culture as well.  Two weeks wasn’t enough but I did get a lot out of it.  I loved Berlin and all that it stands for, my favorite part about the city is definitely the graffiti. Unlike the graffiti here, it is art there and it actually means something not just writing on a wall.  Everything was intriguing what I found very special was the fact that the history was being embraced and not denied.

After going to all of the museums I found that everything correlates, one side is not bashing the other, it is being told like one big story where each side complements one another and helps you understand the big picture.  I find this impressive because you do not see this often, usually the perpetrator and the victims tell the story completely different but in this case it’s like they came together to help tell the story.  Each side made every detail seem important and did not leave anything out no matter how shameful it was.  This is a very important step because it shows that people as a whole are coming to terms with the past which is essential to create a brighter more positive future.  Making it a point to teach the people in your country the exact history of it can help in many different aspects along with avoiding it from occurring again.  Although remembering the past can be painful it is necessary in the healing process and I believe Germany is doing a great job at it.  While down there I thought, well maybe they are just putting these memorials up to say there it’s done lets move on, but it is not the case.  Students learn about the holocaust for a year which is more than any American learns about slavery or Native Americans. 

All in all it was a great experience that I will never forget.  All of the people were great, my class mates were one of a kind, and the music was awesome J.  Being able to see a well-known Dj at the top of a sky scraper is something I have never dreamt of doing and I did, only in Berlin!! The history was amazing; everywhere we went it looked like every building we saw had a story to tell and it did.  While down there I felt free.  No one cared what you looked like or were wearing which is completely different from here.  It was a breath of fresh air, literally.  I’m glad Denver started renting bikes downtown it’ll help me remember our awesome 4 hr. bike ride!  I don’t want to say goodbye Berlin sino hasta luego!

Leave a Reply

